top of page

Unwinding to Recharge


My Yoga Certificate with my new last name!

It's amazing to me how a major milestone in my life that I looked forward to for many years could be over in a snap of my fingers and yet I still feel as if I hiked up an enormous mountain. That milestone I am talking about was my wedding day. Being an artist, I spent a little over a year putting my personal stamp on my own wedding by creating my own stationary, centerpieces and floral designs. I was tempted a time or two to put my students to work sweatshop-style working on my wedding decor, but little-by-little I finished it all just shy of my wedding day. Just like everyone says, it was all over after one amazing night and now after spending a week in sunny Mexico with my husband I am back at work trying to play catch up. It helped that my first day back was a professional development day and the entire staff was treated to an all-day Yoga workshop. As I sat with my head down on the table in an organized meditation, trying to pretend I was back under the grassy umbrella in the white sand of

Cancun, my mind raced around thinking about my next upcoming endeavor- Grad School. I applied to Boston University's Online Master of Art Education program starting on Halloween this year. I thought about taking out more loans to add to my mounting pile, I thought about writing papers again and checking to see if I cited sources in the correct format and I thought about taking time off next summer to complete the campus studio portion of the program. As I forced myself to think of the calm beach again with the soft waves lapping the shore I wondered if I piled too much on my plate like I did at the buffet on our Honeymoon. I may not be so great at traditional meditation, but completing the workshop made me realize that my mindless doodling and visual journaling was like my form of meditation. I feel the most calm when I am sketching, writing notes or even thumbing through a coffee table book for inspiration. All those things are similar to the yoga practices we were learning. I decided to make it a goal for myself, that even when I am busy doing school work or creating lesson plans, I need to carve out little sections of time for myself to focus on creative habits- even if it is just simple doodling or cutting out pictures from magazines- and I need to NOT FEEL GUILTY ABOUT IT! No matter how many dirty dishes are in the sink!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page